About 2 hours speed boat ride from Phuket will bring you to this awesome party island called Phi Phi Island…. It is not surprising that Phi Phi is so popular with the tourists…

Why is Phi Phi Super Cool

1. Party Scene- Every night till 3 am atleast you can count on not getting a minute of sleep thanks to the loud music and party on the beach… and why the hell would you want to get some sleep when you can be a part of the party… Uncles and Aunties… stay back at Phuket, Phi Phi aint for you!

2. Food- From pizzas to thai…from indian to italian….Phi Phi even though small, has enough restaurants to suit every taste….

3. Shopping… Not as big as Phuket but Phi Phi is still decent enough to browse around…

4. Beach Life.. Laze around, Tan, Swim, Snorkel….

5. Maya Bay… The Beach.. ‘Nof Said!

Where to stay

There are plenty of small guest houses… I stayed at the Chinu Bunglow which cost me 200 bahts or so at night… for that kind of money, you get a hut on the beach… the hut has a fan, a light and a small mattress to lie on…thats it… The bathroom and toilets are common for everyone… so, if you are really lucky…you may get a clean enough toilet… At night, you may hear people puking around but try to ignore them… and if it bothers you too much, just ask yourself…Would you rather pay 1500 Bahts for a fancy hotel?…the answer generally is No… So, just listen to the voices in your head and fall asleep….

What to Eat

I made up this section just to draw your attention to this really small place near the pier which may not look very fancy…Hell, the cook will probably not even greet you with a smile… but trust me the food is nice… I dont remember the name of the place…but it is this small place where the locals eat… find it and try it…

I Almost Died

Yes! I almost died… this is how the whole thing happened…

One fine afternoon I was roaming around the island, looking for a cheap ride to Maya Bay… I saw this sign..it said 250 Bahts for snorkeling and Maya Bay.. I signed up…

Me and another 5 people met at the pier for the ride… the guide ( maybe 85 yrs old) brought out this old boat (maybe 85 yrs old) with a car engine… yes, a car engine… We get up… and 10 minutes into the ride, we KNEW this wasn’t safe… (No we were not sissies)

We did the snorkeling thing ( me with a life jacket) and everything was going fine… I thought maybe we were over reacting… We started off for the Maya Bay.. everything was ok… I was taking pictures of the sea and the islands nearby… We were served pineapple..I was happy..

After 15 minutes or so, the boat stopped near a queue of similar boats… the sea was restless now, and the boat stopped like 200 meters from the string net which we needed to climb to get to The Beach… ( The Beach was located on the other side of a cliff.. Tourists used this string net to climb and get on top of the cliff and climb down a set of stairs to get to the otherside..). A Thai guy threw us a rope which was tied to the string net.. We needed to get hold of this  the rope and drag or swim ourselves to get to the string net… The water was deep and restless.. and the 200meters started to look like 2 kms…  All the other tourists in our boat jumped in… and made it to the other side… I was like, its now or never… and I went in too…. I dragged myself and somehow managed to get to the other side with a mouthful of disgusting sea water..

I make my way through the small forest and get to The Beach.. It was amazing… The trip was worth it… for the first time in my Thailand trip I decided to take a dip… (Yes, I skipped Pattaya, Phuket and Phi Phi)..I was saving myself for The Beach…

After an hour, we decided to make our way back up the cliff to get to our 85 year old boat with its 85 year old captain…. It seemed like it was going to rain.. and the waves started getting bigger… and nastier… The life guards at the cliff were like, it is not safe to use the string net and the rope anymore.. they arranged for small inflatable rubber canoes… to take us back to our boat… they were sending people in groups of three and I ended up with a fat white guy and a blonde…. DAMN!!

We get up and the canoe slowly started heading towards our boat… The Car Engine in our boat didn’t seem to bother me anymore… And then… A BIG FUCKING WAVE CAME AND BOOM… our canoe capsized.. we had life jackets, so we didn’t drown… I don’t know about the other two but I gulped down atleast 3 mouthfuls of salt water… I could hear people shout.. but it was in some weird language… Man! I could have given anything to hear some Hindi… Hell, Haryanvi would have done too…. ( Not Punjabi, though… I rather die than listen to a Sardar’s advice… )..

A Thai guy ( probably the life guard…dont know…) dragged me up on a boat and dived in again to get the others.. That’s when I realised…. my camera was wet.. I tried to switch it on….didnt work…tried for a couple of minutes,  till the fat guy made his way back into our boat… (man! fat guys have it tough…) and then took out the memory card, which thankfully worked later in my laptop…

Two days later, I met that girl at a food stall… and she was like… “That happens here!”

Whatever!!!!!! Some of my friends played down the incident saying, I had the life jacket…. Idiots, the economy class passengers aboard the Titanic had life jackets too… they died… Some of them didn’t even bother trying to save themselves… They knew they were screwed…

Only one question still remains unanswered….why the hell, did the life guard save me before the blonde…was I that hopeless?!”

