As I sit in the waiting lounge at the Rajiv Gandhi International Airport,having come here 2 hours early to beat the heat outside, I reminisce about the week that was. Yes, it was not a  vacation..came here to attend a week long program which was supposedly aimed at making me a better manager… like that’s possible… I did visit a few local sights and tasted a few delicacies that Hyderabad is famous for…

Things to See

1. Ramoji Film City… if you are crazy about movies, especially Indian ones, this place is a must see… one can visit the sets of some popular hindi movies and have a great time watching the live shows…

2. Golconda Fort… Haven’t been there.. but have only heard good things about the place…

3. Salarjung Museum… Regret the fact that I went there.. Roamed around in the museum for an hour but didn’t understand the place a bit… ( I was hungry and thirsty…Hyderabad is bloody hot!).. however, people apparently love that place. .. Go and see for yourself..

4. Imax-Prasad’s.. One of the best 3D halls I have been to…

5. Charminar… surrounded by shops and terrible traffic, Charminar makes you go… Is that it?!

Finding the best Biryani

I have been coming to Hyderabad every year for the past three years… and everytime, I tell myself ” Ill find the best biryani in Hyderabad this time around…” This time was no different… Went all the way to the markets near Charminar to find a place called Shadab, which according to locals, is the best biryani in Hyderabad… A plate of biryani costs about 120 bucks but the quantity served is enough for atleast 3 self respecting guys… The biryani was not as great as I thought.. served with a weird coconut curry, the biryani was dry and, for the most part, tasteless…. However, the faluda, even though made with sabu, was nice…very nice… I dreamt about it that night…it was that good!!
Another biryani place, very popular among the locals, is the Paradise… Even though, fortunately, this time around I was not dragged to this restaurant, I want to warn the readers that unless these guys came up with some magical biryani  recipe in the past year, the biryanis here can make any North Indian go “WTF!”….

So, it seems that my search for the perfect biryani was not exactly a huge success.. but I found out about this small place… with some weird south indian name at Banjara Hills, which serves a really mean Chicken 65.. try it if you can…

Also in Banjara Hills, located near the City Center Mall is the superb place called BarbequeNation… with its all you can eat buffet, it is the place to be at dinner time… A friendly suggestion… if you are planning to visit Barbeque Nation, make sure your companions are  up for the challenge as well, because if they strike out early, not only will you be under added pressure to make up for their share ..but there is a good chance that you may have to spend a lot of time on the thunder bucket the next day.. I certainly did!

The Hyderabadis

The Hyderabadis are some of the most fun people I have met… they really know how to have a good time… during they weekends they turn up in large numbers and visit the shopping malls and other land marks of the city to have a blast… during this time, as I found out, the fast food joints are packed and the movies, no matter how crappy they are, run houseful! So, book your tickets early… or prepare to be disappointed.. Also, Hyderabadis refer to Friday as Jumma and Saturday as Hafta..

Beware!

Hyderabad is famous for pearls… so, if you plan to buy some make sure you do your research because there are apparently a lot of shops selling fake pearls in collusion with the auto wallahs. These autos will try to take you to these fake pearl shops. It seems they get a cut or a percentage of the amount spent by the naive customers.

Did George Bush really make that offer?

This is the last section of this blog, and it is about this story that I have been hearing time and time again from most of the locals, especially the auto wallahs.. It seems George Bush once came to Hyderabad and offered to buy the Nizam’s Palace, but he was turned down rudely by the Nizam.. One of the autowallahs actually quoted the NIzam, which translates into something like, if you come to my palace as a guest, I will take care of you, but if you try to take it, Ill throw you out of my city…

Don’t know how much of the story is actually true…  find out for yourself…

 

