BANG! BANG! BANG!

I woke up… and realised someone was banging on the door…

BANG! BANG! BANG!

It can’t be 4 am yet…I just went to bed, I thought…. Looked at my watch, 4.30 AM… SHIT!

I had booked a tuk tuk for $5 to see the Angkor Wat at sunrise. I had heard a lot about The Angkor’s beauty at dawn…Wanted to see it for myself…but, here I was, 30 minutes late thanks to last night’s Singha(s)… However, I was not to blame… I was staying at Siem Reap’s Pub Street after all…

I get up from my comfortable bed… (any bed would seem comfortable, if you travel 12 hours from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam to Siem Reap, Cambodia Via Phnom Penh in a bus…) and open the door… It was the receptionist… “Tuk Tuk waiting for you”in his heavy Cambodian accent…

I quickly get into a pair of jeans, and T shirt… took my wallet and camera.. (Brushing my teeth can wait)… rushed out… I see this guy…maybe 18… waiting for me in his tuk tuk… I get in and apologize for being 30 minutes late.. He was like “Still Sleepy?”

As we sped through the wonderful, clean, empty streets of Siem Reap, with the sweet cool morning breeze… I asked myself, “Will he charge me extra for the half hour wait?”.. I did not want to take any chances, so I went.. “What else is there to see in Siem Reap, I am here for three more days..”

“there is the museum, the floating market and forest……..” The list kept going..

“Maybe you can show me around someday”

“Yes, do you want to go today, Ill show you the whole city”  … He was walking right into my trap…

” Not today..I have got plans…but maybe tomorrow…Ill come by your shop in the evening to let you know”…

This is a trick that I had learned from the tuk tuk experiences in Bangkok… When unsure, promise the tuk tuks future business and they will serve you well… I guess, when the supply is greater than demand, the buyers dictate the market… Its not hustling, its economics!

Few minutes later, we were in the ticket booth of Angkor Wat… I bought a 3 day pass for $40 because I knew, I would come here everyday during my stay here…

After few more minutes of driving, I saw this awesome lake… that surrounds the Wat.. SWEET! We were getting close…

As we stopped at the entrance to the Angkor Wat… I couldnt help but notice the overwhelming number of Chinese tour groups… and man, they were noisy… This was supposed to be a serene experience but now I felt like I was in an Hong Kong Flea Market…

I enter through this huge gate and just when I did, I saw the awesome Angkor Wat (with the morning sun)..it was so freaking beautiful,….

I saw this english speaking guide with a tour group, and I decided to stay close to them… (not close enough so that he could charge me)… we went inside the Wat and there were rooms which were once libraries and temples and swimming pool for the royals…. It was boring inside, so I decided to grab some breakfast at the stalls nearby and take pictures of the Wat… The menu was in some alien language, so I just pointed to the picture in the corner… It looked like some delicious noodles with meat balls…, It wasn’t good…. Trust me its not a good idea to order food when you don’t know what the fuck you are ordering….Wierd birds, tarantulas, crocodiles, insects… I didn’t know how long my stomach take tolerate this bull shit…

At around 9 am I decided to head back and take a shower because it was getting hot…

Saw the tuk tuk driver eating… Awwwww…his mom packed him breakfast… I sat down with him and we talked for a while… I peeked into his food box… he was eating some green slimey thing with brownish seedy stuff..For a brief moment, I judged his mother for feeding her tuk tuk driving son shit like this… He told me all about the Cambodian torture chambers in Phnom Penh… apparently his grandfather was killed there… I wanted to ask how (like the methodology and the items used)? but thought that would be mean! Phnom Penh was my next stop anyways.. I resisted… Eat your slimey breakfast little man!

We got back by 9.40 am.. He thanked me when I handed him his fare.. I sensed he wanted some tips…so, before he could ask, I said “Ill see you in the evening… Want to visit the floating village tomorrow”.  He smiled gratefully and thanked me and drove off.

STUPID BITCH…(Yes, I am a jerk)